The constituency

The Arundel & South Downs constituency is one of the most beautiful in England, much of it falling within the South Downs National Park.

The constituency runs along the South Downs from Duncton in the west to the East Sussex border.  It is predominantly rural, mostly consisting of villages - in spite of its name, no single town dominates it.

The "land of wild nature and wild prospects" (Hudson) and the unique landscape of the "whale backed" downs (Kipling) have provided inspiration to artists and writers from Turner to Blake.

Agriculture and horticulture, leisure and tourism are important to the local economy.  Local historic attractions include Arundel Castle, Petworth House and Parham House.

The constituency was created in 1997, although Arundel seats in different forms have existed since 1332.  At 30 miles wide, it can take an hour to drive from one side to the other.  It grew further when boundary changes added the villages and towns of Petworth, Graffham, Fittleworth, Wisborough Green and Cowfold at the last election in 2010. 

Click on the right to learn more about the individual towns and villages, local authorities and previous General Election results.

The map below shows the constituency boundary on which the 2010 General Election was fought.  To see the constituency on a Google map click here or on an Ordnance Survey map click here.



"I pledge to work hard for everyone in the constituency, to stand up for local people, and to be a strong voice at Westminster for your concerns"